Free Worksheets, Lessons, Quizzes

Human Life Cycle

Human Life Cycle mainly consists of 6 stages. They are simply; foetus, baby, child, adolescent, adult and old person. Let’s talk about each of these stages in detail.

human-life-cycle Human Life Cycle


Stages of Human Life Cycle

Stage 1

Foetus in the womb

An egg from the mother is fertilised by a sperm from the father and turns into an embryo inside the mother’s womb. At first this creation looks like a bundle of cells. By about eight weeks this bundle of cells gradually turns into the shape of the human body. This is called the foetus. The foetus totally depends on its mother as it cannot breathe, drink or eat by itself. The foetus is the beginning of the human life cycle.

Human Life Cycle -stage of foetus Example of a foetus in the womb

Stage 2


After nine months in the mother’s womb, the baby is born. Babies from birth to 1 year are also known as infants. Newborn babies can breathe, suck, swallow and cry when they feel hungry, cold and hot temperatures or any uncomfortable situation. This is how they communicate as they still cannot talk. Babies are usually fed on mother’s milk.

Human Life Cycle -stage of baby A baby
birth – 1 year

Stage 3


The baby grows into a child. It slowly learns to crawl and then walk, talk, run, jump, eat by itself, identify things in its surroundings, communicate properly, read and write, make friends and do many more childhood activities. In the stage childhood, children can be divided into; toddlers (1-3 years), preschoolers (3-5 years) and primary school children (5-12 years).

Human Life Cycle -stage of toddler A Toddler
1 – 3 years

Human Life Cycle -stage of kid A Preschooler
3 – 5 years

Human Life Cycle -stage of boy A Primary School Boy
5 – 12 years

Stage 4


At the stage, adolescence, the child grows into an adolescent through a period called Puberty. Puberty usually takes place in the child’s teenage years, starting from 13 years up to 19 years of age. Therefore, adolescents are also called teenagers. During the puberty a rapid growth and changes of the body take place. These include changes of the body shape, growing hair on some parts of the body, for example, boys grow hair on their faces, and also, boys’ voice becomes deepen and rough. Similarly, at this stage the behaviour patterns and attitudes of the teenagers will change as they are independent in doing their day-to-day activities.

Human Life Cycle - a-teenage-boy A Teenage Boy
13 – 19 years

Stage 5


People who are from age 20 years to 65 years old are called adults. Adults can reproduce, make their own families and so continue the life cycle. Adults can be divided into; young adults (20 – 36 years), middle-aged adults (36 – 55 years) and older adults (55 – 65 years).

Human Life Cycle -stage of adult man A Middle-aged Adult
36 – 55 years

Stage 6

Old Person

When a person reaches 65 years of age, he is known as an old or elderly person. The average life expectancy of a person can vary from 70 to 85 years. But it totally depends on the health of each person, as some die before 70 years, whereas some die after 85 years. However, the human life cycle ends at this stage.

Human Life Cycle -stage of old man An Old Person
65+ years