Free Worksheets, Lessons, Quizzes


Noun           –       Reproduction

Verb            –       Reproduce


Species      –       type or kind

Survive      –       live alive

Extinct       –       died out and not existing (living) any more on Earth


Who can reproduce?

Only living things can reproduce.


What are living things?

Plants and animals


What is ‘reproduction’?

The making of a new plant or an animal is called reproduction. Plants and animals reproduce by making same kinds of copies of themselves. These same kinds of copies can be new plants, babies, kids or youngsters.


Why do plants and animals need reproduction?


  • To continue their species.
  • To make sure that their species survive on Earth.
  • To make sure that their species do not extinct.


What is a ‘life cycle’?

A life cycle is a series of stages a plant or an animal goes through from when it is first formed to when it dies. The life cycle of a plant or animal happens over and over again. A life cycle can be drawn in a circle.


Life cycles


The life cycle of a frog

A frog’s life is divided into two main stages.


First stage

1)   A tadpole hatches from eggs.

2)   The tadpole breathes underwater through gills and swims like a fish.


Second stage

1)   The tadpole’s body changes shape.

2)   Back legs and jaws are formed.

3)   Front legs and lungs are formed for jumping on land and for breathing.

4)   Now the tadpole becomes an adult frog.


The life cycle of a red admiral butterfly


What is ‘Metamorphosis’?

A butterfly goes through four stages of growth from egg to adulthood. This process is known as ‘Metamorphosis’

First stage

A female butterfly lays eggs

A butterfly starts its life as an egg, laid by a female adult butterfly after mating. Butterfly eggs vary in size and shape, but most are surrounded by a protective hard shell.


Second stage

Caterpillar hatches

A caterpillar develops within the egg and then eats its way out of the shell.


Caterpillar molts (sheds its skin)

A caterpillar spends all its time eating. As it grows, the caterpillar becomes too large for its skin and molts (sheds its skin) to make new skin. Depending upon the type of butterfly, caterpillars molt four or five times.


Third stage


When the caterpillar reaches its final size it stops feeding. The caterpillar wriggles and twists to gradually remove its old skin, revealing a new protective skin called the pupa or cocoon. Inside the pupa, the caterpillar changes from a wormlike creature into an adult butterfly.


Fourth stage

Adult butterfly

When the butterfly reaches adulthood, it leaves the pupa. It pumps blood into its wrinkled wings and expands them to their full size before flying away.


The life cycle of a jellyfish


Reproduction - Life Cycle

From Encarta